Campus covered in snow

The Lavery Library Archives Collection documents the history of St. John Fisher College from its initial planning by the Basilian Fathers in 1946 to the present day. Records of significant historical importance are collected and preserved, including administrative records such as graduate and undergraduate bulletins, presidential documents, and board of trustee and faculty senate minutes. The archive has an extensive collection of materials on the Fisher experience from the faculty, staff, student, and alumni point of view. The library maintains print, microfilm, and digital versions of a variety of campus publications.

Ground Breaking Ceremony

The following is a brief listing of some of the publications preserved in the collection:


In addition to these resources, the College Archives supplements the college history by preserving audio and visual material, documenting campus events such as lectures, guest speakers, commencements, and other moments of significance to the Fisher Family. To learn more about the history of St. John Fisher College, please see the following:

  • Haffey, H. J. (1977). The beginnings of St. John Fisher College. Rochester, N.Y: St. John Fisher College (Lavery Library reference and upper level, Call # LD 4810 H23)
  • Sometimes, One Man Can Make a World of Difference: The Lavery Years St. John Fisher College (Lavery Library reference and upper level, Call # LD 4810 S15 1980)
  • A brief history of the college can also be found on the college webpage

Resources from the St. John Fisher College Archive collection may be made available by appointment only. Please contact the archives librarian, Nancy Greco, for more information (585-385-8139 or

Map & DirectionsA-Z Site IndexPeople Directory

Copyright © St. John Fisher College • 3690 East Avenue, Rochester, New York 14618 • (585) 385-8000
Questions/Comments? - Email the Webmaster Website Terms of Use